J| Just Keep Swimming

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.
– Robert Frost, “The Road Not Taken”
But alas, I find myself not in the face of a simple fork in the road, but an offering of three, four, five paths – basically a barren field that lacks any of the pre-made footsteps for guidelines from these so called “roads” and extends beyond the horizon into infinity and beyond. Frost had it easy; he could have made his decision by flipping a coin. But in my case, even a 6-sided dice would not suffice. And while I am so blessed to have the option of having options, the burden that surfaces from my infinite list of decisions leaves me in a predicament of endless “what if’s” and possible regrets. It feels like the world is ending.
In a year from now, I will be in a different place. I’m sure I will have new reasons for the world to end and new worries to preoccupy my mind.The burden of tonight will be long gone. Life goes on and I just have to do the best with what I choose.
Leave a Reply

