J| Spilt Milk

I cried this morning
Not because I saw my AP scores
Not because he called her
“the prettiest girl in the world”
Not because I left my wallet on the train
Not because I missed my mom,
who I haven’t seen for 34 days
Not because I didn’t get enough likes
on my last Instagram picture
Not because I gained 5 pounds
Not because I’m scared about my
midterm presentation
Not because I missed my drama
Not because my dad ate my snacks
Not because I skipped church again
Not because I finished Scrubs
and was experiencing withdrawal
But I wept giant tears as big as boiled eggs
Because I spilt the milk.

Leave a Reply

