A| Prom

17395392123_65566df041_z

I’m sure you’ve all read K’s post about prom, and so I’d like to respond to her post with a detailed account of my own prom night and the events that transpired.

I had very high expectations for prom, I must admit. I thought it’d be some magical night, albeit maybe not magical but at least romantic. Because my prom date, let’s call him Jack, was quite charming and I admit I was falling for him. After all, I spent long amounts of time with him just getting ready for prom so I thought that the actual dance would be a chance for something to happen. I was too hopeful. He was a perfect date early on in the evening; we had gorgeous photos, a fun dinner, and a nice slow dance. He was just so good to me, so I thought, it’s only going to get better from here.

Well it didn’t get better. It got worse.

For some reason, at said after party which was quite wild and not really my scene, I was ignored. I was fully ignored. It was like he was actively ignoring me, and I was sure everyone else could see it. I’d walk into the room, and he’d walk out. It was humiliating and hurtful and I couldn’t even begin to wonder why he was doing this. I thought everything was fine. The entire night I was thinking, “Did I upset Jack? What could’ve happened?” And I never got my answer.

This is where K’s post came in.

This was supposed to be my very first sleepover. I was so excited, to be honest. I’d never been to a sleepover before and I thought this was my journey into the real teenage experience. I was sure I’d have such a good time. And that is where K’s story and mine intertwine. You see, there are two reasons why I didn’t leave the party, even after K tried to get me to sleepover at her house. One, it was my first sleepover. And I really wanted to follow through. Pathetic, I know. But for some reason I felt like I had to try it at least once, even if it was horrific and dirty. I thought it was something that I had to experience for myself. And two, I was hoping that if I stayed long enough, somehow Jack would come talk to me and continue what I thought had been an amazing night. These are the real reasons I stayed, so I’m very sorry K that I worried you. In hindsight, it may not have been the best choice, but I’m alive and very well so I think it was an experience that I learned from.

The morning after the sleepover, Jack texted me. I was hoping he’d apologize, say he wasn’t feeling well, say he was too overwhelmed with how much fun he had or something ridiculously nice that could somehow make up for how much he’d hurt me that night. But no, he was asking for pictures to post on his Instagram account. I thought I was going to cry. So I texted back coldly, using many periods (which I’m infamous for) and brushed him off. Soon after, he texted me asking why I was being so brusque. And I asked him, “Is something wrong? You were so aloof last night.” I was trying to be brave, you know. And he said that he was going to sit with me, but that another boy was already there, that he wanted to talk to his friend a lot, that he was sorry for ruining my night. Sadly, I caved a little. I told him, “Oh I just wanted to hang out more. Let’s watch that movie soon!” We had actually planned to watch a movie together. And you know what? I was swerved. I was lowkey denied. And I was hit with a wave of humiliation once again.

I resolved to send him those damn prom pictures and then not talk to him again. I didn’t want to get involved. If he was going to be so detached, he shouldn’t have asked me to prom in the first place. I’d even paid for my own ticket and dinner just to make him feel better about the whole “going to prom with a friend” thing. I respected his boundaries. I didn’t want him to act like my boyfriend. I wanted him to talk to me. Was that too much to ask? I don’t think so.

So the day after prom, I was a mopey mess. I was on the verge of tears the entire day, just so sick of everything. My sister was loving enough to take me out for Starbucks, which I admit is the perfect remedy for anything and everything. And then when I got home, he tried talking to me. I think he knew I was angry. He snapchatted me, liked my photos, messaged me in the prom group chat. But I was done. I still am. I don’t think I want to deal with him for a while. And if he asks me why I’m upset, I’ll tell him. I’ll tell him everything I told you all. And he can do what he wants with that information.

I am now okay. I think now the anger has worn off, and I’m just left with a whole lot of hurt. But I know that I’ll be okay because he’s just Jack. He’s not some Chris Evans, anyways. If you don’t count the afterparty, you could say I had a perfect prom night. But I count the afterparty. He could have treated me a lot better than he actually did. Not as my prom date, but as my friend. I guess that’s just how these things go. But I’ve decided that I’m washing my hands of him. I paid for my own ticket and dinner, hence I paid for my own good time. And I got some very good pictures out of it. So all is not lost.

Best wishes,

A

Leave a Reply

