A| The Office

I hope readers, as well as J and K, will not judge me for this post. In case the title didn’t click right away for you, this post is about the hit TV show, The Office. Now, I began this show when a friend of mine said that he had just reached the finale after constant watching on Netflix, hours that could have been used for quality studying or I don’t know, anything else. My dad had always been a big fan of the show, so I had often heard about it over dinner. But when I began the show myself, I didn’t realize how addicting it was.

Granted, the first season was a bit dodgy. After all, the main character at the time, Michael Scott, didn’t seem funny to me. He seemed like the jerk that I’d do my best to avoid at school. But after a while, I realized that he was just a good person with good intentions (and bad execution). And I think after that, no matter how cliched this might sound, I came to the conclusion that a lot of people are like that. Maybe all of us are in our own sitcom, a funny sitcom I hope. I don’t know. It was the characters and the writing, and the seemingly mundane setting that made everything so charming. It made my life seem like it had the abundant potential to become a funny, charming sitcom (with an even more charming Jim Halpert if anyone would like to grace me with one of those).

I’m a kid. Okay, not a kid at all. But I’m young. So wanting something so romanticized as The Office seems a little ridiculous. And I love every aspect of that strange show. Tonight, when I finished the finale just as my friend had, I realized that I would be so very lucky to have The Office. I’d be lucky to have a very good-looking Jim Halpert, an eccentric Dwight Schrute, a best friend like Pamela Beesly Halpert, and an incredibly politically incorrect boss like Michael Scott. The way that this show was written didn’t really make sense to me at first. It had an amalgam of characters that didn’t mesh at all, like who even came up with these personas in the first place?

But it all makes sense to me now.

My favorite part about this show is that it is so ridiculous, the conflicts and the drama and the jokes and the people. They wouldn’t exist in real life. But at the same time, I believe they would. The characters are so weird that they’re REAL. I’ll probably meet some weirdo like Creed or some drunk like Meredith, and instead of being so angry all the time (because that would be my initial reaction) I’d think of The Office. Mundane life is funny, and it’s enough to make a sitcom out of.

I’m glad I spent hours watching this show. Some might say it was a waste of time, you might be thinking that right now. You might be thinking, “What a weird girl. She doesn’t even get that it’s just a show like Keeping Up with the Kardashians.” But it’s not. It’s really not. It has so much more substance than petty cat fights. I learned a lot after watching The Office. And if I could forget all of it and then rewatch it again, I would, because knowing that I’ll never be able to experience watching The Office for the first time ever is actually so frustrating.

As of right now, my life has lost its The Office virginity and it’s going to be really really hard. (That’s what she said.)

It’s the end of a really amazing era.

“I wish you’d have a way to know that you’re in the good old days before you’ve actually left them.” – Andrew Bernard

Best wishes,

A

Leave a Reply

