J| What I Learned From My Eyebrows

The thing about my eyebrows is that no matter how careful I am, no matter how many YouTube tutorials I watch, no matter how many Benefit eyebrow powders, or eyebrow pencils, or eyebrows mascaras I buy, they will never, ever be even. Lord knows how much money I’ve blown on these so called Holy Grail products, yet He still persists on giving me the lightest, weirdest, toughest brows known to women. My asymmetrical brows gave me stress. Whenever I would look in a mirror my eyes would gravitate to the two weird patches of hair right above my eyes. But eventually I got over it, and learned something so valuable, I think the thin, overplucked brows may have been worth it.

I began plucking my eyebrows in middle school. They were kind of a mess back then, and I guess you could say they’re still kind of a mess now. Have you ever heard of the infamous Asian “triangle” brows? Or William Huang’s brows? They were kind of like that. But worse. So, with a stolen pair of tweezers in my right hand, a picture of a KPOP star blown up on my iPod in my left, I began to pluck away. It was a secret from my mom.

During my first time, I had no idea what I was doing. Beauty gurus love to preach, “Follow your natural shape.” Girl. My brows don’t have no natural shape. Nor did I know it would hurt so much. I can remember so clearly the tears started to well up in my eyes as I viciously ripped out multiple hairs with one pull. My tears were not tears of sadness at my conforming to social standard, nor were they tears of a bittersweet goodbye due to the ending of my innocent bushy-eyebrowed childhood days. Nope. They were the tears of pain that still haunt me to this day whenever I bring my silver weapon up to my brows. Ouch.

Every time I brought out the tweezers, I would learn a new lesson that day: don’t over pluck, Angelina Jolie brows make you look stupid, eyebrow pencils help you in times of need. It was always fun for me, because no matter how badly they turned out they would always grow back. I could experiment. So, with every lesson came a new eyebrow look. My eyebrows have gone through several more phases since: super arched, mildly arched, long, short, squared off, rounded off…

I mentioned Angelina Jolie because I distinctly remember trying several times to achieve her look. At that time she had very arched eyebrows, like the golden McDonalds arches, minus the blonde and minus the unibrow. They were so arched, you would look a little bit angry. But that was the charm. Angry was confident and confident was sexy. But remember, I was probably not even 13 then, so I was most definitely, NOT sexy. Angry? Maybe. Confident? Possibly. Sexy? No way José. I swear, when I laughed I must have looked like a crazy b with a botched eyebrow tattoo job or the kind of clown that you’d find in horror films, rather than circuses. Needless to say, people pointed out my eyebrows and laughed. Clowns make people laugh, after all.

Now for the point of telling you about my long intimate history with eyebrows. My eyebrows taught me a lot. As I mentioned before, they aren’t even. They never will be. My face in general isn’t symmetrical, it doesn’t really matter if my eyebrows are slightly off. But coming to terms with this took a lot more time and effort than you would think. It took years of trial and error and realization to come to this conclusion. And as cliche as it is, life is a lot like eyebrows too. Like I said, with my eyebrows I wasn’t afraid of trying new things because I knew they would always grow back. In life, I don’t have to be afraid of trying new things either, because I know will always be able to grow back, stronger and more empowered than ever. You should want to better yourself, always. But you should also know the difference between growing to be better version and changing yourself completely. I think I have great eyebrows. They may not be even, or dark, or like Cara Delevingne’s, but they’re still pretty great, nonetheless. I think as a person, I’m the exact same way. Love your brows, and love yourself.

Love,

J

Leave a Reply

