K| I’m Pretty

Honestly,  I feel pretty. I love the way I look.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not vain. I am fully aware of my physical “flaws.” I am very flat-chested. I have almost nonexistent eyelashes. I am bull-legged, meaning my legs curve in a seemingly unnatural manner outward near the knees. I don’t have much of a booty. I have an overbite that braces could not fix. My face is just way too round. And I break out every now and then. You get the point.

Basically, I know that I’m not perfect. I’m not even close. I could never be a model. I could never be on the face of a magazine. I simply don’t have the looks. I’m no Kendall or Kylie Jenner. I’m no Miranda Kerr.

Honestly, I know that I’m quite ordinary looking. However, in ninth grade, there was a girl in my English class who called me the “ugliest girl ever,” so maybe I’m even ugly.

But, I truly, truly feel pretty. I am very happy with my appearance, no matter what anyone has to say about it. And I have realized that I’m able to achieve the feeling of prettiness because of the following three reasons.

  1. I don’t think my flaws matter. It’s not that I ignore the parts of my body that I’m not particularly fond of, it’s just that I have accepted them fully and I simple don’t care for them. I don’t believe that being in the itty bitty titty committee can make me not pretty, or anybody not pretty. I don’t believe that being bull-legged makes me not pretty. I don’t think that having flaws can make anybody less pretty, because pretty has absolutely nothing to do with being perfect.
  2. What I do find pretty about myself is not dictated by anything other than myself. Whatever is trending and whatever fads take hold of the media change so much that it’s like monkeys control them. Seriously, just last week I was watching the movie “White Chicks” and one of the main characters was crying about how her butt was too big, and I was so shocked, given that her butt might even be considered too small nowadays. The media and pop culture will NEVER be able to make its mind about what’s hot and what’s not. So you might as well just shut all of that out.
  3. I enjoy working on my appearance. I really think that what you are born with is not all that you’re stuck with. I dye my hair every few months to a nice auburn-brown color, about three shades lighter than my natural hair color. I’m not saying that you have to dye your hair or anything, but if you think that makes you prettier, why not? Also, there’s clothes and makeup. I love styling my outfits and playing with makeup. Mascara literally changes the entire game for me. One minute I have no eyelashes, and the next I have a bunch. However, I do want to note that make-up is not going to solve all of your problems. I think you can only truly appreciate make-up when you’re okay with how you look without it. Make-up isn’t supposed to be a mask. It’s supposed to enhance what’s already beautiful.

I know that it can be hard to feel pretty these days, especially with the influx of selfies of  seemingly perfect looking girls that has the world by storm recently, but here’s a little secret: they’re not perfect at all, not even close, just like you, just like me.

Feeling pretty is a choice. Feeling pretty is a choice that you can make. I’m not preaching vanity, because vanity isn’t pretty at all, but I really think that when you start feeling just honestly and genuinely pretty, your life just really becomes better.

So, say it out loud. You’re pretty. I’m pretty.

We’re all so pretty.


Sincerely,

K

One thought on “K| I’m Pretty

Leave a Reply

